Ad space available
reach us at [email protected].
Major update has been completed. Please help to report any abnormality that you are facing (in case there is any) to [email protected] . Thank you for your continued support guys!

Incomplete masters- IPA/ICAA successful assessment?

retroliferetrolife North RydePosts: 9Member
edited December 2013 in Working and skilled visas
Hi guys!

I am planning to have my qualifications assessed soon by either the IPA (Institute of Public Accountants) or the ICAA.

Here's my case:
I have a Bachelor degree from the Philippines that needs to be assessed as equivalent to an Australian bachelor. I am currently completing a 2 year masters degree in accounting (16-subject) in Melbourne. To date, I have successfully passed the 12 accounting subjects required by the IPA.

My question:
For anyone who was in the same situation or understands my case, were you able to apply and successfully gain a positive assessment even if you haven't finished your masters degree but have an Australian equivalent bachelor degree and have all the required 12 core accounting subjects?

I've contacted IPA and ICAA about this and they told me that they will consider all my subjects to date but there's no guarantee that I'll receive a positive outcome. I figured that their response was a pretty generic one so I'm really interested on your experiences and am happy to hear any suggestions on how to go about this.

Thanks so much!

Comments

• rolly04rolly04 Bundoora
    My view:

From IPA website, it says "Please note that all bodies apply the same criteria when completing a qualifications assessment."

Sa CPA Australia, which is one of the assessing bodies, master's degree is only relevant when applying for temporary visa (meaning either sa bachelor degree or master degree mo napag-aralan ang mga core knowledge subjects). Pero pag PR visa, kailangan sa bachelor degree mo nakuha yung at least 9 na core knowledge areas.