Ad space available
reach us at [email protected].
Major update has been completed. Please help to report any abnormality that you are facing (in case there is any) to [email protected] . Thank you for your continued support guys!

Marrying an Australian citizen - which visa should I get?

Hello, it's my first time posting but I've been visiting the site for some time now. We're a young Filipina-Australian couple planning to marry in the near future. I live in the Philippines while my boyfriend lives in Australia. We've been together for two years, and he's visited frequently and met my family. We're just waiting for me to finish college as per my parents' wishes before we actually get married. It will take me 1-2 years more to finish, and if so by God's grace we would be 4 years together then. 🙂

We have ample time before we intend to marry, but we would like to be prepared and know what to expect when the time comes. I'm confused as to which visa is right for me if I intend to be with my partner and live in Australia permanently.

I read there are two visas that I can apply for: Prospective Marriage or Partner visa.

I have a few questions:

1. What's the difference between the two visas? Is one cheaper, easier, or faster to process than the other? Which one is advisable in my case?

2. Does it matter where we get married? We're planning to do the wedding ceremony in the Philippines so I can be with my family, but I read that some get married while on visit visa then apply for a partner visa onshore. Is there a difference or benefit in either option?

3. How long prior should I apply or start preparing and processing for my visa? How long is the expected waiting time?