Pinoy Australia Information Forum

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Random Members
(30812)

  • harpsharon2
  • breadmodem45
  • mmiranda
  • clothenergy00
  • crossplot07
  • seedercalf1
  • scarletsnow143
  • mhymhy01
  • rvrecabar
  • Chowder
  • itsmelavs
  • Willardhogan
  • dgjrtdzubf
  • mrsdingal
  • lyza
Browse Members
To google officer. This is not a chatbox!

Members Online (24)

artmonsteratonibayCasseycyborg5datch29ejgarciafyviyttstHunter_08jam14jedh_gJulio2017KarlaDksrzivudyMisterKehnnajienextchapterauojdeOzyCebuanoPebblespinesflyPotchitochiptepainkillerTasBurrfootXavier

Top Posters
All time

Top Posters
This Week

Advertisement:

Thank you to all who have signed up on our FREE Webinar. Please mark you calendar and be there on 18th Oct 2018 9pm (Manila Time) . You will receive the Webinar link on your email, please don't forget to check your spam folder.

PTE REVIEW CENTER MANILA

What's Hot
nickieneckieRNnickieneckieRN Marikina CityTotal Reaction Points: 0Member
Hello everyone I am new here and was looking for PTE review centers when I stumbled upon this forum. I am thinking of taking the PTE by January or February next year. Do we have members here who have tried enrolling in a review center? I was trying to search known PTE review centers and I saw 2 schools: INTERNATIONAL LANGUAGE MANILA (Makati) and INTERNATIONAL ACADEMY (Quezon city)
Ive inquired from both centers and they offer a review class package of 10k-12k for 15-20 hours of lecture, sitdown/mock exams. My main concern is I tried to research on feedbacks or reviews about the above mentioned review centers but I cannot find any. I would like to enroll sana in a review center where they are really good and familiar about PTE.
I am also torn between doing self study and enrolling in a review center. I wanted to do self study sana para makasave but I think I wont be able to focus, I have a 2yo toddler. I find it expensive naman sa review center but atleast I am focused and ill have a grasp about PTE since this is my first time. Havent tried IELTS. Took TOEFL when I was still in FEU (9years ago) please help!!!! Thank you so much!
reaction image 0LOL reaction image 0Awesome reaction image 0Informative reaction image 0Artistic Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Comments

  • bellacomerosbellacomeros PhilippinesTotal Reaction Points: 2Member
    Posts: 12
    Hi, i enrolled in the international academy manila but i'm not satisfied with the way they teach their students. Most of the knowledge and information na natutunan ko sa pte ay gling sa forum na eto at sa pgreresearch na din. I think kaya nmn sya ng self-review lang, that time ksi hindi pa ko familiar sa exam so i take the risk in enrolling sa review center, sana pala hindi na lang. Just allot 2 hrs of your time everyday sa review and also focus.
    Admin nickieneckieRN
    reaction image 0LOL reaction image 2Awesome reaction image 0Informative reaction image 0Artistic Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • Crystal24Crystal24 Taguig City, PhilippinesTotal Reaction Points: 0Member
    Posts: 13
    @bellacomeros hi mam, im new here sa forum.my husband & I just starting plang to read the details on how to apply for visa 189/190.tnung ko lng mam since nasabi nyo po na sana nag self study nlng po kau on pte.Is it really that easy compared to ielts na kahit no need to review? Ang husband ko po ang principal applicant mam.ACS ang assessing body nya.ICT po nominated occu nya..Mas may chance po b mapataas nmen ang points s pte mam kumpara s pagtake ng ielts?thank you mam s pag answer :)
    reaction image 0LOL reaction image 0Awesome reaction image 0Informative reaction image 0Artistic Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • nickieneckieRNnickieneckieRN Marikina CityTotal Reaction Points: 0Member
    Posts: 16
    @bellacomeros thank you dear sa advice. Yan din reason why naghahanap ako ng review center hindi kasi ako familiar with PTE. Buti nalang you shared your experience upto now nangungulit parin sila sakin na magenroll. By the way nagtake ka na ba ng PTE?
    reaction image 0LOL reaction image 0Awesome reaction image 0Informative reaction image 0Artistic Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • justice143justice143 MelbourneTotal Reaction Points: 3Member
    Posts: 56
    @nickieneckieRN nagtry din ako jan. And not good experience sa International Academy Manila. Hindi sila marunong maghandle ng students. Sayang lang binayad ko.
    reaction image 0LOL reaction image 0Awesome reaction image 0Informative reaction image 0Artistic Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • MissMMissM Total Reaction Points: 90Member
    Posts: 354
    Mas ok to do self-review than enroll in PTE review centers. Maraming materials na nai-share na dito sa forum. You can check it out in this link.

    Also, nagshare din ako sa forum na yan nun review materials na ginamit ko. Hope it helps!
    reaction image 0LOL reaction image 0Awesome reaction image 0Informative reaction image 0Artistic Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • jgjocson2jgjocson2 ManilaTotal Reaction Points: 0Member
    Posts: 1
    Hi everyone! Nung nabasa ko comments nyo dito inexplore ko agad ang FB page ni International Academy Manila. Madami naman pumasa sa kanila as per testimonials. And one of my friend is enrolled there. Ok naman. 100% passing rate talaga sila. Kasi upon recommendation bago nila bitawan si student para mag exam. And one on one talaga. Flexible scheduling pa. worth it ang ibabayad nyo.
    reaction image 0LOL reaction image 0Awesome reaction image 0Informative reaction image 0Artistic Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • winterojanwinterojan Philippines/AustraliaTotal Reaction Points: 2Member
    edited December 2017 Posts: 1
    In my opinion, if u think u can get ur desired score thru self study, then why not. Only you know your capabilities, and you can make it happen. No excuses dapat ang attitude if u wanna get something done. I did self study on my first PTE and i fared well. 81/85/72/87. I was aiming for at least 79+ in each to increase my PR points pero sablay sa speaking! So i decided to engage expert help. One on one coaching rather than risking it again. I got my desired score in my second attempt. Actually more than what i had hoped for. Communucative skills 90/90/90/90 including enabling skills @ 90/90/90/90/90/79
    greenapple onehitwonder
    reaction image 0LOL reaction image 2Awesome reaction image 0Informative reaction image 0Artistic Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • ianianianianianian PhilippinesTotal Reaction Points: 1Member
    Posts: 2
    Hello po, I have the same concern and stumbled upon this post. To review or enrol? I think doable naman ang self study, pero need ko kasi ng Superior na score para mapataas ang points ko. San po kaya ako pede mag enrol? Please advise din po ng magandang school. Salamat po!
    pangky_town
    reaction image 0LOL reaction image 1Awesome reaction image 0Informative reaction image 0Artistic Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • pangky_townpangky_town DXBTotal Reaction Points: 1Member
    Posts: 47
    @winterojan - may ask po if sino yong nag one one one sayo?
    261312 Developer Programmer (Age Pts:25 | English: 10 | Education: 15 | Experience: 10)

    27/04/17 | Decided to migrate in AU with an agent
    07/21/17 | Applied Assessment with ACS for Developer Programmer
    09/07/17 | ACS asked for Additional Documents (Affidavits/Statutory Declaration)(Affidavits/Statutory Declaration)
    09/17/17 | Submitted Additional Documents to ACS
    09/22/17 | Received Positive results from ACS
    09/01/17 | Start review prep for PTE
    10/07/17 | Took PTE
    10/08/17 | PTE L/R/S/W 81/74/90/78 (10Pts)
    10/10/17 | Reviewing for take 2
    05/11/17 | PTE L/R/S/W 75/74/90/75 (10Pts)
    08/11/17 | Submitted EOI 1190 (VIC) (65)
    04/03/18 | Lodged EOI and Submitted Application for subclass 489 Tasmania
    reaction image 0LOL reaction image 0Awesome reaction image 0Informative reaction image 0Artistic Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • toAustraliaandbeyondtoAustraliaandbeyond PhilippinesTotal Reaction Points: 1Member
    Posts: 80
    @ianianian Hi! nag-enrol kb sa mga review school? ako din need ko ng superior score so I'm planning to go to review center and study din every day pagkauwi from work. Plan ko sa Jrooz review center but not sure if okay cla. May nkatry n po b? ACCE din ata pde din..
    reaction image 0LOL reaction image 0Awesome reaction image 0Informative reaction image 0Artistic Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • chococrinklechococrinkle Iloilo CityTotal Reaction Points: 128Member
    Posts: 515
    @toAustraliaandbeyond. Hi! Most of us here who already took PTE did not enrol in a review school. Self review lang talaga. Start with familiarizing the exam types. Watch E2 Language videos in youtube big help yun. You also read some tips sa PTE academic thread, very helpful especially yung kay @Heprex. Ang ganda ng tips nya, that helped me a lot, it can help you too. God bless you on your preps.
    2014 -- start of Au dream
    06.07.14 -- IELTS LRWS 7.5/7.5/7.0/7.0
    07.18.14 -- positive skills assessment
    08.01.14 -- waiting for occupation in ACT to open
    08.01.15 -- still waiting for occupation in ACT to open
    08.01.16 -- still waiting for occupation in ACT to open
    06.07.17 -- expired IELTS
    07.18.17 -- expired skills assessment
    08.2017 -- learned high points via SA 489
    11.22.17 -- PTE Academic exam LRWS 90/79/90/90
    11.22.17 -- result of Vetassess assessment renewal
    11.30.17 -- EOI lodge SA 489 80 pts
    12.22.17 -- received SA invitation
    01.04.18 -- Visa Lodge SA 489
    01.19.18 -- Medicals
    04.10.18 -- Visa Grant (DG) Praise God!!!

    ***********
    PTE Writing Tips

    For writing essay I used E2 language format and applying what I learned from Ielts. Sa intro, sa 1st sentence ni restate ko lang yung question using my own words. Then sa 2nd sentence if one sided lang yung question, I give summary of the reasons ( 2 reasons only). Example, if ang essay is about importance of computers (one sided), eto 2nd sentence ko. Computers are valuable resources as they (1st reason) aid in learning and are (2nd reason) used to communicate with others. Then sa 3rd sentence sasabihin ko para pampahaba-- In this essay, I shall discuss my point of view by giving points and examples about the topic.

    Then sa 2nd paragraph, elaborate ko na ang 1St reason. Mga 2 sentences na magsupport sa 1st reason, like if yung 1st reason ko is aid in learning, expand ko ang topic by answering how computers aid in learning,etc. Usually yung reason mo convert mo by asking how, what, when, or who. Tapos sa 3rd sentence, I state examples. Pwede ka din mag add pa ng 4th sentence parang isummarize mo lang ang 2nd paragraph.

    Sa 3rd paragraph discuss naman ang 3rd reason same sa ginawa sa 2nd par.

    4Th paragraph 1st sentence conclusion, then 2nd sentence recommendation.

    If 2 sided naman yung intro pwede mo gamitin yung nasa template like kina Heprex na samples. Then yung 2nd par yung kabilang side, then yung 3rd paragraph yung other side. Tapos same last paragraph.

    If medyo nahihirapan ka sa mga ideas, research ka dito sa forum ng mga recent topics. Tapos based dun sa topic reasearch ka anong pwedeng maging points and reasons para may idea ka na ano ilalagay mo sa essay.

    Ang key talaga sa writing is dapat marami ka ideas. If nahihirapan ka mag construct ng idea try to research as much as possible. Google mo yung mga common or recent topics on pte writing tapos may mga sample questions dun,, then research mo ano possible answers para sa actual exam may idea kana ano isasagot. Tapos dpat familiarize mo mga connectors (like moreover, therefore, for instance, etc) kasi mas mataas ang grade kapag medyo complex ang sentence na ginagamit mo kesa simple sentences lang.

    For summarize written text strategy ko is to first get ano main topic. Then analyze what important points were given, may nangyari ba? If meron ano ang nangyari, kelan nangyari? ano at para kanino ang purpose? Usually kasi sa mga paragraphs naka detail lang pero yung point lang naman dun is parang dinedescribe lang yung main topic. If you can answer who/what, when, how and why about the topic pwede mo na pagdugtungin yung ideas mo thru connectors and form a sentence. If you will have multiple paragraphs, summarize mo muna per paragraph then summarize mo ulit lahat in one sentence

    Another tip also in writing as much as possible do not repeat the same words. If you dont have much stored knowledge about synonyms okay lang. Practice and Research is the key. Kaya malaki ang help sa akin yung pag research sa mga common or recent topics kasi while practicing pwede akong mghanap ng synonyms then mas madali ko syang ma recall sa actual exam kasi nagawa ko na sya before. Tapos if meron kayong word na ma encounter na parang hirap kayo mag elaborate, google nyo din anong synonym or phrases na pwedeng same meaning ng word. Share ko yung nilista kong mga synonyms na possible na magagamit sa mga essay kasi minsan these are the topics commonly asked.

    Essay synonyms

    Discuss- cite, mention, illustrate, narrate, elucidate, talk about

    Finally.. Concluded, In Summary

    Democracy- representative govt; elective govt; republic; commonwealth

    Vote- suffrage, ballot, poll, elect officials, select leaders, appoint, designate

    Leaders- officials, officer, commander, chief, head, principal of nations, pioneer, front runner

    Nature- mother earth, environment, wildlife, universe, cosmos, countryside, natural resources, natural world

    Environment- habitat, territory, domain, surroundings

    Teachers- educator, tutor, coach,guide, mentor, guru, professor, trainer, lecturer

    Computer- PC, laptop, netbook,desktop, terminal, mainframe

    Robot- automated individual, android, automaton, golem, bot, droid,

    Invention- creation, innovation, development, design

    Creative ability- inventive mind, originality, imagination, inspiration

    Airplane- plane, airliner, jet, plane

    Drugs- medicine, medication, remedy, cure, antidote

    Issue- matter, affairs, problem, difficulty, obstacle, predicament

    Information- details, particulars, facts, data, computing /computer

    Revolution- insurgence, transformation, innovation, revolt, uprising, restructuring

    Packaging- case, wrap

    Region, province, rural area, district, territory, district, area

    Boon- blessing, benefit, advantage

    Tourist- traveler, vacationer, visitor

    Tourism- visits to places of interest; commercial organization and operation of vacations; traveling to places; services provided to people for holidays

    Technology- invention, engineering, applied science, method, technical knowledge, undustrial science, mechanization

    Xenophobic- anti nationalist
    Heprex
    reaction image 0LOL reaction image 1Awesome reaction image 0Informative reaction image 0Artistic Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • toAustraliaandbeyondtoAustraliaandbeyond PhilippinesTotal Reaction Points: 1Member
    Posts: 80
    @chococrinkle salamat. Kelangan ko kasi talga ng superior na score. Salamat sa mga tips..
    reaction image 0LOL reaction image 0Awesome reaction image 0Informative reaction image 0Artistic Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • chococrinklechococrinkle Iloilo CityTotal Reaction Points: 128Member
    Posts: 515
    @toAustraliaandbeyond. Yes attainable din superior scores with self review. I reviewed for almost 2 months for 1 to 2 hrs after work and also got superior marks. However if you feel much comfortable with enrolling in a review school you may also do that. God bless you.
    2014 -- start of Au dream
    06.07.14 -- IELTS LRWS 7.5/7.5/7.0/7.0
    07.18.14 -- positive skills assessment
    08.01.14 -- waiting for occupation in ACT to open
    08.01.15 -- still waiting for occupation in ACT to open
    08.01.16 -- still waiting for occupation in ACT to open
    06.07.17 -- expired IELTS
    07.18.17 -- expired skills assessment
    08.2017 -- learned high points via SA 489
    11.22.17 -- PTE Academic exam LRWS 90/79/90/90
    11.22.17 -- result of Vetassess assessment renewal
    11.30.17 -- EOI lodge SA 489 80 pts
    12.22.17 -- received SA invitation
    01.04.18 -- Visa Lodge SA 489
    01.19.18 -- Medicals
    04.10.18 -- Visa Grant (DG) Praise God!!!

    ***********
    PTE Writing Tips

    For writing essay I used E2 language format and applying what I learned from Ielts. Sa intro, sa 1st sentence ni restate ko lang yung question using my own words. Then sa 2nd sentence if one sided lang yung question, I give summary of the reasons ( 2 reasons only). Example, if ang essay is about importance of computers (one sided), eto 2nd sentence ko. Computers are valuable resources as they (1st reason) aid in learning and are (2nd reason) used to communicate with others. Then sa 3rd sentence sasabihin ko para pampahaba-- In this essay, I shall discuss my point of view by giving points and examples about the topic.

    Then sa 2nd paragraph, elaborate ko na ang 1St reason. Mga 2 sentences na magsupport sa 1st reason, like if yung 1st reason ko is aid in learning, expand ko ang topic by answering how computers aid in learning,etc. Usually yung reason mo convert mo by asking how, what, when, or who. Tapos sa 3rd sentence, I state examples. Pwede ka din mag add pa ng 4th sentence parang isummarize mo lang ang 2nd paragraph.

    Sa 3rd paragraph discuss naman ang 3rd reason same sa ginawa sa 2nd par.

    4Th paragraph 1st sentence conclusion, then 2nd sentence recommendation.

    If 2 sided naman yung intro pwede mo gamitin yung nasa template like kina Heprex na samples. Then yung 2nd par yung kabilang side, then yung 3rd paragraph yung other side. Tapos same last paragraph.

    If medyo nahihirapan ka sa mga ideas, research ka dito sa forum ng mga recent topics. Tapos based dun sa topic reasearch ka anong pwedeng maging points and reasons para may idea ka na ano ilalagay mo sa essay.

    Ang key talaga sa writing is dapat marami ka ideas. If nahihirapan ka mag construct ng idea try to research as much as possible. Google mo yung mga common or recent topics on pte writing tapos may mga sample questions dun,, then research mo ano possible answers para sa actual exam may idea kana ano isasagot. Tapos dpat familiarize mo mga connectors (like moreover, therefore, for instance, etc) kasi mas mataas ang grade kapag medyo complex ang sentence na ginagamit mo kesa simple sentences lang.

    For summarize written text strategy ko is to first get ano main topic. Then analyze what important points were given, may nangyari ba? If meron ano ang nangyari, kelan nangyari? ano at para kanino ang purpose? Usually kasi sa mga paragraphs naka detail lang pero yung point lang naman dun is parang dinedescribe lang yung main topic. If you can answer who/what, when, how and why about the topic pwede mo na pagdugtungin yung ideas mo thru connectors and form a sentence. If you will have multiple paragraphs, summarize mo muna per paragraph then summarize mo ulit lahat in one sentence

    Another tip also in writing as much as possible do not repeat the same words. If you dont have much stored knowledge about synonyms okay lang. Practice and Research is the key. Kaya malaki ang help sa akin yung pag research sa mga common or recent topics kasi while practicing pwede akong mghanap ng synonyms then mas madali ko syang ma recall sa actual exam kasi nagawa ko na sya before. Tapos if meron kayong word na ma encounter na parang hirap kayo mag elaborate, google nyo din anong synonym or phrases na pwedeng same meaning ng word. Share ko yung nilista kong mga synonyms na possible na magagamit sa mga essay kasi minsan these are the topics commonly asked.

    Essay synonyms

    Discuss- cite, mention, illustrate, narrate, elucidate, talk about

    Finally.. Concluded, In Summary

    Democracy- representative govt; elective govt; republic; commonwealth

    Vote- suffrage, ballot, poll, elect officials, select leaders, appoint, designate

    Leaders- officials, officer, commander, chief, head, principal of nations, pioneer, front runner

    Nature- mother earth, environment, wildlife, universe, cosmos, countryside, natural resources, natural world

    Environment- habitat, territory, domain, surroundings

    Teachers- educator, tutor, coach,guide, mentor, guru, professor, trainer, lecturer

    Computer- PC, laptop, netbook,desktop, terminal, mainframe

    Robot- automated individual, android, automaton, golem, bot, droid,

    Invention- creation, innovation, development, design

    Creative ability- inventive mind, originality, imagination, inspiration

    Airplane- plane, airliner, jet, plane

    Drugs- medicine, medication, remedy, cure, antidote

    Issue- matter, affairs, problem, difficulty, obstacle, predicament

    Information- details, particulars, facts, data, computing /computer

    Revolution- insurgence, transformation, innovation, revolt, uprising, restructuring

    Packaging- case, wrap

    Region, province, rural area, district, territory, district, area

    Boon- blessing, benefit, advantage

    Tourist- traveler, vacationer, visitor

    Tourism- visits to places of interest; commercial organization and operation of vacations; traveling to places; services provided to people for holidays

    Technology- invention, engineering, applied science, method, technical knowledge, undustrial science, mechanization

    Xenophobic- anti nationalist
    reaction image 0LOL reaction image 0Awesome reaction image 0Informative reaction image 0Artistic Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • toAustraliaandbeyondtoAustraliaandbeyond PhilippinesTotal Reaction Points: 1Member
    edited February 15 Posts: 80
    @chococrinkle thank you. I'll think of the options and definitely gamitin ko mga materials and tips dito sa forum. GODBLESS sa ating Journey to Australia.
    reaction image 0LOL reaction image 0Awesome reaction image 0Informative reaction image 0Artistic Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • janine23janine23 PhilippinesTotal Reaction Points: 3Member
    Posts: 15
    Hi po. For me pag nag enrol ka kasi sa isang review center ma a-achieve mo talaga ang desired score mo. Like sa Jrooz Review Center nag po-provide talaga sila ng mga effective test-taking strategies and exam tips.

    You can visit this site http://www.pteacademic.com.ph/ for PTE Review of Jrooz.
    reaction image 0LOL reaction image 0Awesome reaction image 0Informative reaction image 0Artistic Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
Sign In or Register to comment.

Latest 10 Posts


Blogs at PinoyAu - Source of Useful Tips and Guides for Pinoys in Australia

What's Going On?
Currently Active Users: 128 (25 members and 103 guest(s))
View Who's Online
Pinoy Australia Statistics
Pinoy Australia Statistics
Views: 16,854,483 , Members: 30,812 , Threads: 9,531 , Posts: 321,769
Welcome to our newest member(s) LeticiaHel, alexa2:16
Today's Birthdays
View Birthdays baronann, erin, Bob, ENERGY, iyanismal, buddha26, jc_duck2004, Darkwing168, libragirl, SPOGaruda, vanvaleros, hideliza, banana, cmvergara, melvin_uy, ChristelCa, IolaPeeler, Rowell, libertymargate, tesu, Lara, annikadegrey, aleiah17, magicmike, prunerkidney77, jumperyam86, tagaparalaya, clzap, flameplier2, actionsystem6, ramiepasta5, Renee_20, Rudzon, johnyland, AntoineBat, joymalagueno, BONOEL, rlue.asturias, ennameya, rheaj, KamoteZero, engryong, mariarhyn

New SimplyStall Mobile App!

Hi everyone!

I'm very happy to announce PinoyAu Forum's new app called "SimplyStall" . It's a new Gumtree like service for Pinoys in Australia but in a way better!

So if you have any items just collecting dust? Why not convert it to cash?

If you are selling new items or products or wish to give an item away for free then this might be a good avenue for you.

This project is a new initiative to unify and have a common portal for Pinoys in Australia to sell and share stuffs.

It's now available on Google Play and Apple App Store.

Please do try it out. I'd appreciate if you can help me spread the good news and start selling your old or new stuffs.

Android Ios
(click X on the upper right corner or click outside this box to close)